Fuller Ridge Trail Head Access

General Palm Springs area.

Fuller Ridge Trail Head Access

Postby jfr » Mon May 29, 2017 5:37 pm

It's time to head out and hike the prettiest trail on the mountain!

Black Mountain Truck Trail (Forest Route 4S01) is in excellent shape as of Memorial Day 2017. We had absolutely no trouble driving our sedan (Toyota Corolla) up the road, as it appeared to be freshly plowed. The bad section that I barely made it over last October has been repaired. I was a bit nervous after all those storms last winter, but it is now in the best shape I've ever seen (not that I'm an expert).

We checked out the fire tower on Black Mountain, then day-hiked along the PCT (Fuller Ridge Trail) and bagged Castle Rocks, which had some great views. There were only a few rare patches of snow left on the north-facing slopes, and only five feet of trail had snow on it. By next weekend that part will be gone, as plenty of PCT Through-Hikers are walking on it every day.
My (collected) trip reports: http://hikingtales.com/
jfr

Re: Fuller Ridge Trail Head Access

Postby guest » Tue May 30, 2017 6:40 am

Thanks for the update Jfr on this road, (that is usually is bad shape in places).
It's nice to not have to drive all the way to Idyllwild if coming up Hwy 243, (although it's always a good after-hike place to eat.

cheers, ss
Btw, Is the fire tower / lookout along the trail?

Postby jfr » Tue May 30, 2017 6:32 pm

Black Mountain Fire Tower can be accessed by turning left toward the Boulder Basin Campground. Park there and hike up the gated road a half mile or so to the tower. It was open when we were there, so we got to go inside, thanks to the volunteers who stay there. Summer weekends would be your best bet for finding it open.

See this Sierra Club Topo Map: http://caltopo.com/m/0K70
jfr

Postby guest » Tue May 30, 2017 6:40 pm